Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, University of Louisville, Bachelor of Laws, 1962.

Morehead State University, Bachelor of Science, Business Administration, 1959.


W. Terry McBrayer is the senior partner for the McBrayer, McGinnis, Leslie & Kirkland law firm. He is a native of Greenup, Kentucky, and a graduate of Morehead State University and the University of Louisville School of Law. He has held numerous leadership positions in state government: Terry was an elected member of the Kentucky House of Representatives, serving in the leadership roles of House Speaker Pro Tempore and Majority Floor Leader during his tenure; and he also served as chief executive officer for a former governor. He has served as Chairman of the Kentucky Democratic Party, and is still heavily involved in the Party, having been elected to four consecutive four-year terms as the Democratic National Committeeman from Kentucky and a superdelegate at
the 2008 Democratic National Convention. Terry is past chairman of the State Capital Global Law Firm Group and was named the Outstanding Alumni of the University of Louisville School of Law.

Terry has served in numerous public service roles, including as a member of the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees, the Chandler Medical Center Board, eight years on the Kentucky Council on Higher Education, seven years as Chairman of Kentucky Education Television, Commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Commerce, Chairman of
the Kentucky Board of Tax Appeals, and Chairman of the Greater Lexington Chamber of Commerce.


  • American Association for Justice
  • American Bar Association
  • Boyd County Bar Association
  • Department of Commerce, Commissioner
  • Directed Transition Team for Administration of Governor Julian M. Carroll
  • Economic Development Commission, Member
  • Fayette County Bar Association, 1962 - Present
  • Governor Julian M. Carroll, Chief Executive Officer, 1975
  • Greater Lexington Chamber of Commerce, Past Chairman
  • Greenup County Bar Association
  • Greenup County, State Representative, 1966 - 1975
  • Greenup Jaycees, Past President
  • Greenup Lions Club, Past President
  • House of Representatives, Member
  • Kentucky Bar Association
  • Kentucky Board of Tax Appeals, Chairman, 1989 - Present
  • Kentucky Convention Center Advisory Board, Member
  • Kentucky Department of Commerce, Commissioner, 1977 - 1978
  • Kentucky Development Finance Authority, Member
  • Kentucky Film Commission, Member
  • Kentucky Housing Corporation, Member
  • Kentucky Port and River Development Commission, Member
  • Kentucky Supreme Court, Special Justice
  • Labor-Management Advisory Council, Member
  • State Capital Group, Past Chairman

Community Activities

  • Board of Directors, Bluegrass Association for Mental Retardation, Inc.
  • Board of Directors, Bluegrass Council of The Boys Scouts of America, 1977 - 1978
  • Board of Trustees, University of Kentucky, 1979 - Present
  • Center on Aging
  • Chairman, Greenup County Boy Scouts
  • Chairman, Greenup County United Fund
  • Chandler Medical Center Board
  • Co-Chairman of The Fund Drive, Central Kentucky Blood Center
  • Deacon, Greenup Christian Church
  • Deacon, Tates Creek Christian Church
  • Democratic State Central Executive Committee
  • East Greenup County Boys Club
  • Greenup County Development Association and Ashland Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Greenup County Park Board
  • Greenup Merchants Association
  • Greenup Parent-Teachers' Organization
  • Greenup Volunteer Fire Department
  • Kentucky Fish, Game and Wildlife Club
  • Past Chairman, Kentucky Educational Television
  • Past President, Greenup Lions Club
  • Past President, Young Democrats Club of Kentucky
  • President, Morehead Alumni Association
  • Salvation Army Board
  • State Government Chairman, United Way of the Bluegrass
  • Vice Chairman, Kentucky Council on Higher Education


  • Best Lawyers' 2014 Lexington Administrative / Regulatory Law "Lawyer of the Year"

Lawyer of the Year WTM

  • AV Peer Review Rated by Martindale-Hubbell®

  • Delegate to NATO Conference, German, Belgium, France
  • Honorary Doctorate Degree in Public Administration, Morehead State University
  • Inducted into Junior Achievement's Bluegrass Business Hall of Fame, 2012
  • John F. Kennedy Award for Outstanding Young Democrat
  • Majority Leader, 1970 - 1972
  • One of the Three Outstanding Young Men in Kentucky by Selected by the Kentucky Jaycees, 1969
  • Outstanding Alumnus of the University of Louisville School of Law
  • Speaker Pro Tempore, 1968 - 1969
  • The Best Lawyers in America, 2013-2014

    Best Lawyers
  • Voted Outstanding Alumnus by Morehead Alumni Association
  • Voted Outstanding Legislator in the Public Interest by the Capitol Press Corps